Tokyo Pt. 2 – in the rain

sc_20150620_6

This is the second part from my trip to Tokyo in the summer: Tokyo in the rain. When I was there it was rainy season (梅雨) and while this does not mean that it is raining every day – in fact the weather was quite nice most of the time – usually you will experience rain and you will see lots of umbrellas everywhere.

Enjoy the last days of 2015 —TSJ.

Maids in Akihabara (秋葉原) waiting for people, mostly tourists, to show around or drag into one of the maid cafés. If you do not speak Japanese it is a bit of a dice roll. In both causes though worthwhile and lots of fun.

sc_20150621_23

Between Shinjuku and Shibuya. I have no idea how often I walked down this road…

sc_20150621_44

One of my favorite spots. The shot was taken from the terrace of a coffee shop on the third floor or so. If the weather is better people tend to hang out here for impromptu photo shoots on the street. If it is raining it just amazing how these massive numbers of umbrellas navigate their way through the crowds.

sc_20150621_52

One of photographers waiting for somebody being up for a shoot in the rain…

sc_20150621_46

In Shibuya you will naturally gravitate to Harajuku, where you will find lots of crazily dressed people. Also, the vibe here is very different from other locations. It feels much smaller…

sc_20150621_40

Harajuku has lots of small fashion stores. Lots of fun to explore.

sc_20150621_42

4 thoughts on “Tokyo Pt. 2 – in the rain

  1. Your photos really bring back the memories during my stay in Japan.
    I don’t know if it just me but everytime I look at gallery of photographs themed “Japan”, I tend to see the rushness yet gentle mood coming out from the photograph.
    I really miss the train experience, watching pedestrians on the street, and alley with small stores.
    Would love to be back again someday

    • thanks! Same here – it is the unexpected combination of rush and calm that makes it so interesting for me. I don’t really know why or how but it is the same experience, consistently, over and over again.

Leave a comment